• Edexcel is the UK’s largest awarding body for academic and vocational qualifications.
  • Edexcel qualifications are delivered in over 85 countries worldwide.
  • Edexcel awards more than 1.1 million vocational qualifications and 9 million exam scripts each year.
  • The BTEC portfolio is exclusive to Edexcel , including approximately 5000 standard qualifications.
  • More than 100 professional bodies and institutions give exemptions or membership to holders of Edexcel BTEC level 4/5 HND/HNC qualifications
  • More than 70% of degree programs in the UK allow students with an EDEXCEL BTEC Level 4/5 HND to progress directly onto their final year.
  • More than 200 universities worldwide recognize Edexcel BTEC
  • Edexcel’s standard qualifications are aligned to the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) in the UK.
  • Edexcel is a Pearson company and thus part of the largest educational group in the world which also includes Penguin and the Financial Times groups of companies.

What are BTECs?

Originally BTEC was an organisation – the Business and Technology Education Council (BTEC) – set up in 1973 to nationally validate and accredit high quality, consistent vocational qualifications. In 1996 following a merger of BTEC and London Examinations, a new company, Edexcel, was born. Today, BTEC is a brand for vocational qualifications owned and offered only by Edexcel-Pearson.

BTEC Higher Nationals are QCF level 4&5 qualifications and are widely recognised by universities and professional bodies. Edexcel has more than 150 Higher National qualifications available, suitable for students aged 16 and above. A Higher National student will develop management and higher level technical & interpersonal skills required by employers. After a period of usually two years, students can progress to the final year of degree programmes.

Benefits of BTEC

Students enjoy the personalised, work-related approach to learning because it provides important practical knowledge, skills and behaviours that will enable them to more successfully secure the job they want.

  • BTEC qualifications are internationally recognised by employers and universities worldwide.
  • BTECs provide evidence that they have obtained the skills, knowledge and behaviours required to competently undertake employment within the industry their qualification has been developed for.
  • BTECs help progress directly into the second or final year of graduation or post-graduation at universities in the UK and other countries after completing 2 years of HND/HNC or 8 months of an advanced diploma, saving huge costs.
  • BTECs help get an internationally recognised certificate/diploma and differentiate you in the eyes of employers supplementing your existing qualifications.
  • BTECs enhance your knowledge and profile with a work-related qualification that involves experiential learning.
  • BTECs develop transferable skills like problem-solving, team-work etc enhancing employability.

Ambitions 4 photography academy became an EDEXEL approved Centre from June 2010. The academy offers the the following photography learning programmes.

Programme Title: BTEC Level 4 HNC Diploma in Photography (QCF)

QAN: 500/9239/X. Duration: 15 months (758 total learning hours)

Programme Title: BTEC Level 5 HND Diploma in Photography (QCF)

QAN: 500/9233/9. Duration 20 months (1152 total learning hours)

Some of the universities that recognise BTEC qualifications

  • University of Central England
  • De Montfort University Leicester
  • Leeds Metropolitan University
  • Liverpool John Moore’s University
  • London Metropolitan University
  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Middlesex University
  • Napier University Edinburgh
  • Northumbria University
  • University of Sunderland
  • Nottingham Trent University
  • University of Wolverhampton
  • University of Westminster
  • University of West of England (Bristol)
  • California State University (Los Angeles)
  • East Carolina University
  • Eastern Michigan University
  • Idaho State University
  • Iowa State University
  • Loyola University Chicago
  • Niagara University
  • Ottawa University
  • Pennsylvania University
  • San Francisco State University
  • State University of New York
  • Texas Wesleyan University
  • University of Houston
  • University of California, San Francisco
  • University of Vermont
  • Virginia Commonwealth University

Progression Paths can also be found from Pearson's Degree course finder website.

Enquiry Form

Go to top